The Ostrich lays her eggs

Wow.  Today we’re making some babies….hopefully.  My last scan showed approximately 10 follicles so fingers crossed for a good number of eggs.  Protocol for today – no food (wah!  I’m so bad without breakfast!), water until 8am then nothing, 3 paracetamol at 9:30am then off to the clinic at 10 for a 10:30am procedure.  And finally my hubby has to do something!  About time, he’s gotten off so lightly over the last couple of months/years!  I’m pretty nervous, initially it was just because I was scared of saying something stupid while pumped full of happy drugs but now it’s the fear of the procedure itself.  I’m sure it will all be fine but it still freaks me out all the same.  For those who don’t know what happens it goes something like this.  Into the clinic for a final run over consent forms and basic checks, a consultation with the doctor and the embryologist, and off I head into theatre.   Unlike my laparoscopy my husband is allowed in with me this time so that reassures me a bit.  Oxygen on, IV in and away we go.  It starts of like a normal internal scan – you get pretty good at these through the infertility process, not counting today’s adventure I’ve had 8 visits with ‘dildocam’ via 6 different doctors (today makes 7 docs) – then they stick a needle through my inside, up to each ovary and suck out the follicles.  Easy as pie.  Wish me luck!

And I’m out again.  All up they extracted 9 eggs which is pretty good going.  Now we just need to wait and see how many of these fertilise, which the embryologist should tell us tomorrow. So other than being spaced out it wasn’t too bad.  Apparently the procedure took about 20 minutes but I really don’t remember any of it after they dosed me up.  I looked over at the ultrasound screen trying to see what was happening and the next thing I know they’re helping me up and out to the recovery room.  So weird.  I’m gutted I didn’t get to see them sucking the follicles out, that would’ve been cool, I guess I’ll have to rely on hubby for the details, but if I have to go through this again he is definitely filming it for me.

To tell you the truth it’s really bugging me that I don’t remember it.  According to my husband I didn’t say too much (phew) but claimed I felt spaced out, and winced a couple of times, I guess when they jabbed through the (in)side of me to get to my ovaries.  I was looking forward to seeing them sucked out too but on the up side it’s good at least one ‘parent’ was lucid enough to be paying attention.  After half an hour and some tea and toast I’m allowed home.  I’ve spent the day on the couch watching TV, trying to read, and having a really really long nap.  It certainly takes it out of you, I was knackered!  And now the waiting begins…..a day to find out the number fertilised, 5 days until they put one back in then the dreaded waiting to find out if it’s worked.  Even though so much of this infertility experience is about waiting you never really get used to it….or maybe it’s just that I’m impatient.  If only I could nap through it.

Leave a Reply

waitingbetweenthelines

The highs and lows of a child psychologist dealing with infertility.

spiritbabycomehome

Misadventures in recurrent pregnany loss & reproductive immunology

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Today I hope

Ups and downs in a long and winding road to parenthood

myhopefullibrary

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Room to Grow

Re-foresting a small piece of New Zealand

Infertility What ??

Journey to a family : IVF / FET

A Calm Persistence

A Journey Through Recurrent Pregnancy Loss

Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Dogs Aren't Kids

A look at infertility with humor, sarcasm and just a little bitterness.

A Morning Grouch

Mama. Writer. Runner. Doodler. Yogi. Wine lover. Poor sleeper. Coffee consumer. Depression fighter. Gratitude practicer.

Just Stop Trying and It Will Happen...

Barren and blogging about it. Don't be jealous.

dorsetrachel

random acts of kindness, senseless acts of beauty

NewtoIVF

The trials and tribulations of a girl TTC

Schrodinger's Catbox

All the things they don't tell you about making babies. And not making them.

Under The Paw

The quest to expand our family

Waiting Mama

A Trying to Conceive Story

mother-one-day

Mid-20's Aussie wife & friend to all. Trying to concieve baby number one since April 2011. Medical Scientist by day. I'm a bargain hunter, crafter, animal lover & handy with a power tool. Desperate to add 'mother' to that list. my Darling Husband is my loving team-mate on our infertility journey.

Diary of a Yummy Mummy in Waiting

The quest to expand our family

misslazy81

For every girl who's ever had questions but no answers

