Deep scars and sticking plasters

I think I’m in a reasonably good place.  In the past three years I have cried more tears than I have my entire life (I know, hard to believe eh Dad!), suffered more heartache than I ever thought possible, and felt a failure so deep I never thought I’d see the light of day….and this journey isn’t over yet.  I think however, that I’m finally starting to put some of the hurt behind me.  That’s not to say I’m going to recover.  I think infertility cuts so deep that you’re never the same person, you’re never fully healed because the scar tissue is just too thick to ever truly go away.  I know that if we’re ever lucky enough to have a child, regardless of how that child comes to be, we will always feel the lashing infertility has dealt us.

I’ve been pondering lately at how weird it must be to not go through this, to conceive easily and go through a pregnancy with what is considered a normal amount of worry.  To go through nine and a half months with the default setting that ‘things will go right’ rather than ‘things are bound to go wrong’.  To trust that your body is programmed to do the right thing without even thinking about it.  It must be nice.  But then I also think of how much I will appreciate our child if our dreams were to come true, how extra-specially treasured they would be.

Now please don’t get me wrong, I’m not suggesting that those who procreate easily don’t cherish their children, I’m merely contemplating the idea that something toiled for is more consciously appreciated, because let’s face it, if you don’t have to work for it you often don’t realise how much it cost to get there.  I know I certainly value our home a lot more because it’s taken us five and a half long years of renovating – chipping away bit-by-bit as we’ve had the money; suffering cold, wet winters with no insulation/carpet/curtains and holes in the floor; missing out on fun things because we couldn’t afford to go – to get us to where we are today.  If we’d purchased a house already complete it would just be a house, just a roof over our heads, instead of a home we’ve invested our heart and soul in.

Being aware of how precious our child would be does come with its downside of course.  I will forever be in danger of over-protecting them, of wrapping them in bubble wrap until they can barely move.  This is not only harmful for my child – all kids need the freedom to learn from their mistakes and experience the world – but it would also add a great deal of stress to our everyday lives.  I refuse to be a helicopter parent.  I must acknowledge what it cost us to get there; admit they are precious, irreplaceable, cherished; and step away from the helicopter landing-pad.  I can do that.

Of course we have to get there first and although I’m currently doing well I’m still terrified of our next steps not working.  It’s not just my husband & I invested in the process anymore, and I don’t want my body to let us all down once again.  The thought of our donor going through all this for my body to play its usual games and fail at its last (only) hurdle really freaks me out.  But I’m trying not to worry about it, I’m in a good place and I’m doing my absolute best to stay there.

5 responses to “Deep scars and sticking plasters

  • Lisette

    What a beautiful post sweetie. I can 100% relate to all of it, even down to the renovating :/ Everything is so daunting. We are forever changed and I wonder what it must be like to have things go so well. We will never know that I guess but I do believe we will never take our children for granted. Ever. I’m so hopeful for you hun, I know it’s scary but I’m feeling good about this for you. Hugs xxxxx

  • A Morning Grouch

    We are forever changed after dealing with infertility, by you’ve got this. You are obviously work in on that balance, and that will not change (and may be easier once hormones are somewhat stabilized 😉 )

  • NotSoNewtoIVF

    glad you’re feeling stronger hon, I know just what you mean – as I injected myself this morning and nearly died from stress this weekend when we nearly ran out of Gonal F I thought….how is it possible that people just have sex and get a baby?!! that’s all they do! just have sex! It seems impossible. xx

Leave a Reply

waitingbetweenthelines

The highs and lows of a child psychologist dealing with infertility.

spiritbabycomehome

Misadventures in recurrent pregnany loss & reproductive immunology

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Today I hope

Ups and downs in a long and winding road to parenthood

myhopefullibrary

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Room to Grow

Re-foresting a small piece of New Zealand

Infertility What ??

Journey to a family : IVF / FET

A Calm Persistence

A Journey Through Recurrent Pregnancy Loss

Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Dogs Aren't Kids

A look at infertility with humor, sarcasm and just a little bitterness.

A Morning Grouch

Mama. Writer. Runner. Doodler. Yogi. Wine lover. Poor sleeper. Coffee consumer. Depression fighter. Gratitude practicer.

Just Stop Trying and It Will Happen...

Barren and blogging about it. Don't be jealous.

dorsetrachel

random acts of kindness, senseless acts of beauty

NewtoIVF

The trials and tribulations of a girl TTC

Schrodinger's Catbox

All the things they don't tell you about making babies. And not making them.

Under The Paw

The quest to expand our family

Waiting Mama

A Trying to Conceive Story

mother-one-day

Mid-20's Aussie wife & friend to all. Trying to concieve baby number one since April 2011. Medical Scientist by day. I'm a bargain hunter, crafter, animal lover & handy with a power tool. Desperate to add 'mother' to that list. my Darling Husband is my loving team-mate on our infertility journey.

Diary of a Yummy Mummy in Waiting

The quest to expand our family

misslazy81

For every girl who's ever had questions but no answers

