F-Day (written 30th January 2015)

D-day yet again…or should I say F-day as it’s the day we get our fertilisation report. I’m awake early, unable to sleep in anticipation of the news we are yet to receive. I try to keep busy, making tea and coffee and breakfast but even still I’m checking my emails every few minutes for an update.

By 10:30am we decide we need to get out of the house, we’re both going crazy with the stress of waiting for an update. We opt to head back to the Gaslamp Quarter as I’ve got my heart set of some yellow (bumble coloured) slippers to ward off the cold of these tile floors. Just as we’re about to hop into the car a text from a DEIVF-experienced friend arrives hoping we’ve received good news this morning. It’s just before 11am, should we have received news by now? Thinking back to our other cycles it’s seems that we should have, that can only mean bad news right? Or maybe not because we received early news in our other cycles and THEY were bad. My panic shifts into overdrive. Emails are checked nearly every minute as we cruise down the freeway. Why aren’t they emailing us?!? Should I have opted for a phone call? Do they prioritise the calls first then get to those who have selected to receive their news via email?

I think I’m officially nuts, but looking over at my husband I see the stress written all over his face too. It’s a quiet car ride, no talking, no music, neither of us can bear it. We clutch each other’s hands and steal frantic yet supportive glances at each other. Then we reach our destination. I check emails again but the number in my inbox hasn’t increased. “Refresh! Refresh!” says hubs urgently…and there it is. ‘Day 1 update.’ My stomach drops out as I open the email, I think I am going to be sick. “Yesterday we retrieved 27 eggs. Of those, 27 eggs were mature” (YES! Our little eggy lagging behind caught up!)…yada yada yada…..”We inseminated 27 mature eggs yesterday and today 24 have fertilised”

Twenty-four! Oh my god, that’s amazing! That’s an 88% fertilisation rate. I’m stunned. WE’RE stunned. I feel a sense of relief. I’m smiling yet kind of numb. Then a minute or so later it actually sinks in. We have 24 embryos. I feel the tears start to stream down my face and look over at my husband to see the tears in his eyes too. A text to our friend in San Diego who had messaged earlier and soon she has tears welling in her eyes also. We’re both shaking and I feel some of the stress leave my body. There’s still a fair bit of tension there, we’ve still a long way to go, but we’ve crossed a major hurdle. Now to hope that our potential little Bumbles develop normally, survive their PGS testing, and make it to transfer/cryopreservation.

6 responses to “F-Day (written 30th January 2015)

  • waitingbetweenthelines

    Those are amazing results!!! We are in the process of finding a donor as i have DOR but are feeling anxious that we will make the wrong choice and choose someone with dodgy egg quality… Congratulations on finding someone with the best. Eggs. Ever!!

    • waitingforbumble

      It’s hard choosing a donor isn’t it! This donor was actually our second choice as our first wasn’t available. We got recommended to go with someone who had donated before and had a proven track record as we were traveling so far for treatment. So I would pass that recommendation on. Have a look at their past cycle/s then you’ll get a feel for how they produce. If they’ve donated before they should know how to stim them to get the best result. Happy to chat anytime you like. Good luck!!!

  • Lauren

    Ah, this post brought it all flooding back for me. Both my own experience and reliving vicariously last week. may the wonderful news snowball into someone wonderful ❤

Leave a Reply

waitingbetweenthelines

The highs and lows of a child psychologist dealing with infertility.

spiritbabycomehome

Misadventures in recurrent pregnany loss & reproductive immunology

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Today I hope

Ups and downs in a long and winding road to parenthood

myhopefullibrary

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Room to Grow

Re-foresting a small piece of New Zealand

Infertility What ??

Journey to a family : IVF / FET

A Calm Persistence

A Journey Through Recurrent Pregnancy Loss

Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Dogs Aren't Kids

A look at infertility with humor, sarcasm and just a little bitterness.

A Morning Grouch

Mama. Writer. Runner. Doodler. Yogi. Wine lover. Poor sleeper. Coffee consumer. Depression fighter. Gratitude practicer.

Just Stop Trying and It Will Happen...

Barren and blogging about it. Don't be jealous.

dorsetrachel

random acts of kindness, senseless acts of beauty

NewtoIVF

The trials and tribulations of a girl TTC

Schrodinger's Catbox

All the things they don't tell you about making babies. And not making them.

Under The Paw

The quest to expand our family

Waiting Mama

A Trying to Conceive Story

mother-one-day

Mid-20's Aussie wife & friend to all. Trying to concieve baby number one since April 2011. Medical Scientist by day. I'm a bargain hunter, crafter, animal lover & handy with a power tool. Desperate to add 'mother' to that list. my Darling Husband is my loving team-mate on our infertility journey.

Diary of a Yummy Mummy in Waiting

The quest to expand our family

misslazy81

For every girl who's ever had questions but no answers

