Time for an update

Wow! Time is flying so fast! I can’t believe it’s a month since my last blog post. Things have been super busy both at work and at home and, with me feeling like bed around 8pm every night, there hasn’t been much time for writing. It’s definitely time for an update!

I’m back to eating most foods…well, not quite most – I still struggle a lot with any form of dairy, and raw food isn’t so good either, but as long as I’m avoiding the lactose and eating warm foods I’m doing really well on the eating front and am putting on weight (finally). I have to say I actually look forward to dinner-time now!

We’ve made it to (and past) the 24 week viability milestone – YAY! So at least I can relax a little knowing if the boys decide to arrive now, they have a pretty good chance at surviving and living a ‘normal’ life. Another bit of the massive weight on my shoulders falls away. People laugh when I say “I just need to get to/past x and I’ll relax” – “you’ll never relax” they say – but I find as we pass each little milestone I chill out just that little bit more, knowing that we’re one step closer to our long-held dream being realised.

We’ve also started setting up our nursery which, being an infertile in denial that this is actually happening to us, is a massive deal! We finally, after much drama, have two cots that we like; we purchased one second hand then tried to buy another from the same site to match, only it was sold under the wrong model name so didn’t match at all….something we would normally complain about, only the second cot was the style I’d really wanted right from the beginning of our TTC journey so we decided to sell the first cot and buy another to match the second cot. We tried to find one on the same buy-and-sell website but couldn’t, so made the decision to just buy it new as I’d found a good deal at one of our local shops.

Very excitedly we purchased our new cot and took it home, only to find that the company had decided to change the design of the model, so despite the fact that it still had the same model name, it now looked different and our cots STILL didn’t match! Tired and emotional (hey! I’m pregnant I’m allowed!) I threw in the towel and told my husband to just go and buy another new one and we’d sell BOTH the second hand cots. We’ve managed to get rid of one and are still in the process of selling the other. What a stressful, expensive, and time-consuming exercise that turned out to be. I wish I’d just bought them new to start with!

Our nursery also now contains a change-table (bought with a voucher my husband was given upon leaving his job of 11 years to start another and which luckily matches our cots, woohoo!), a bouncer (gifted from a friend who no longer needs it), a cool little canvas toy bag (bought from a local baby market), books, our stroller, one of our car capsules (one is still on order from the supplier), and various other bits and pieces lovingly donated by friends. We also plan to pop an armchair in there for the night-time feeds and/or story-time as they grow. Everything is slowly coming together….now to get onto the truckload of washing I have to do for them and load up the wardrobe!

As I mentioned at the start of this post, work has been really busy, so much so that I haven’t really had any time to work on/complete my handover notes. At least I’ve started them though so that’s something, and they’ve appointed someone to take over from me for 13 months which is great! I need to get cracking on the notes as my handover officially starts in two and a half weeks, with me finishing up work in four and a half, EEK!

The hectic nature of work at the moment, while great from a mental perspective, is becoming quite challenging physically. I find I’m getting really tired by early- to mid-afternoon, and am absolutely exhausted by the time I get home at night. This isn’t helping much on getting stuff done around the house as I basically arrive home, collapse on the couch for an hour while my hubby makes dinner (yep, I’m one of those lucky girls who doesn’t have to cook), eat, then hop into bed somewhere around 8pm. It’s crazy. The guys at work have been really understanding though and are letting me work more flexible hours. This means I can come in a bit later in the morning or leave a little earlier in the day without too much bother. I still need to get my work done though so I can’t do that all the time!

The last thing worth mentioning from the last 4 weeks or so is that I’ve really started loving my body. Not that I didn’t before, it’s just that being someone who’s conscious of their weight, I was always a little worried as to how I’d react as my tummy grew bigger. After our long journey to get pregnant I knew I be happy regardless, but what’s surprised me in a positive way is just how insanely happy I am to watch my tummy grow and how excited I am that this weight gain and expanding middle is our lovely wee boys growing away inside me. Not to mention feeling their little kicks and movements getting stronger all the time! It’s way more exhilarating than I could ever have imagined and I LOVE IT!!!

So that’s pretty much it, weeks 22 to 26 (well, 26 in two days time). Things are slowly beginning to feel more real, we’re slowly starting to get more organised, and I’m loving life! After 4 years of heartbreak and failure, this is one of the best feelings ever.

Leave a Reply

waitingbetweenthelines

The highs and lows of a child psychologist dealing with infertility.

spiritbabycomehome

Misadventures in recurrent pregnany loss & reproductive immunology

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Today I hope

Ups and downs in a long and winding road to parenthood

myhopefullibrary

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Room to Grow

Re-foresting a small piece of New Zealand

Infertility What ??

Journey to a family : IVF / FET

A Calm Persistence

A Journey Through Recurrent Pregnancy Loss

Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Dogs Aren't Kids

A look at infertility with humor, sarcasm and just a little bitterness.

A Morning Grouch

Mama. Writer. Runner. Doodler. Yogi. Wine lover. Poor sleeper. Coffee consumer. Depression fighter. Gratitude practicer.

Just Stop Trying and It Will Happen...

Barren and blogging about it. Don't be jealous.

dorsetrachel

random acts of kindness, senseless acts of beauty

NewtoIVF

The trials and tribulations of a girl TTC

Schrodinger's Catbox

All the things they don't tell you about making babies. And not making them.

Under The Paw

The quest to expand our family

Waiting Mama

A Trying to Conceive Story

mother-one-day

Mid-20's Aussie wife & friend to all. Trying to concieve baby number one since April 2011. Medical Scientist by day. I'm a bargain hunter, crafter, animal lover & handy with a power tool. Desperate to add 'mother' to that list. my Darling Husband is my loving team-mate on our infertility journey.

Diary of a Yummy Mummy in Waiting

The quest to expand our family

misslazy81

For every girl who's ever had questions but no answers

